Sri Lankan Women pull off upset win against India

Sri Lanka and Indian Women fought against each other in the T20I series at Dambulla, Sri Lanka. India won the first two T20Is but the last one has been won by Sri Lanka. Captain Chamari Athapaththu played a blinder off an innings to secure this rare win for her team.

She scored 80 runs off 48 balls in a chase of 139. Sri Lanka Women bowlers restricted Indian batters to 138/5 score in 20 overs. Dashing opener Shafali Varma got out for 5 runs and Meghana, Smriti Mandanna couldn’t score freely. Both got out trying to up the rate.

Harmanpreet Kaur scored 39 off 33 and Jemimah Rodrigues scored 33 off 30 balls. In the end, Pooja scored 13 off 6 balls. SL Bowlers looked determined to not let Indian batters to tee off and score huge.

Sri Lankan batters needed to just support their captain Chamari Athapaththu and she launched attack on Indian bowlers. She made sure that no bowler will be settled and Nilakshi de Silva with 30 off 28 supported her well. SL completed the victory in 17 overs.

Indian women won the series with 2-1 and missed clean sweep. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur won player of the series. Also, after 12 successive losses, this is the first victory for Sri Lankan women in T20Is against Indian Women.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles