Ranji Trophy Final: Rajat Patidar gives MP hope

Madhya Pradesh has reached to the final of Ranji Trophy for the first time in 3 decades. If they win it will be their first ever trophy. If Mumbai wins it will be their 42nd title. Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh are fighting it out for the coveted Indian Domestic Cricket Trophy at Bengaluru.

Mumbai scored 374 in their first innings courtesy Sarfaraz Khan’s century. Madhya Pradesh needed to respond strongly. Yash Dubey, Shubam Sharma scored centuries to set up a strong response. But it is IPL star Rajat Patidar’s 122 knock that gave them the lead to challenge senior rival for a trophy.

Fourth Day started with Madhya Pradesh batsmen Rajat Patidar and Parth Sahani trying to make Mumbai wait and push for the lead. Sahani fell early and Saransh Jain joined Patidar. They both put on 53 runs partnership and Patidar fell. Jain scored 57 runs to annoy Mumbai further.

Madhya Pradesh got a solid 162 runs lead courtesy Patidar and Jain. Shams Mulani picked up 5 wickets for Mumbai. The senior rival started their innings deciding to first knock off the lead soon and push for victory on the fifth Day. Mumbai scored 113/2 in 22 overs. Prithvi Shaw (44), Hardik Tamore (25) pushed the scoring rate above 6 at one point. Armaan Jaffer (34) and Suved Parker (9) are at the crease for them.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles