IPL2022: A new champion is certain this season?

Mumbai Indians won the IPL tournament five times and Chennai Super Kings won it for four times. They are the current champions and it seems almost certain that we will see a new champion this season unless Sun Risers Hyderabad or Rajasthan Royals manage to win the title. Kolkata Knight Riders lost their match on 28th April to Delhi Capitals pushing them to sixth position above Punjab Kings.

Middle of the IPL 2022 table is occupied by Lucknow Super Giants, Sun Risers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore. LSG, SRH and RCB are on 10 points and DC is below them with 8 points. If the second half of the tournament will also produce similar results like first half, we might see two or three teams depending on Net Run Rate to qualify to next level.

If KKR or PBKS manage to change their fortunes then they might also give these teams tough fight. With more losses than wins CSK seems to be completely out of the equation while MI is still looking for their first win after eight matches. These two giant teams will not win the cup again and SRH has bettered their chances to qualify. If they qualify along with the second place holder Rajasthan Royals then it would be a complete changeover from the last year dismal performances.

Both of them won the tournament before and hence they will be planning to hold their nerves during the qualifiers for final. The table toppers Gujarat Titans is almost confirmed to the qualifiers with 14 points. If they keep up their winning ways, they have full chances to be in the final and even win it.

New Captains, Hardik Pandya for Gujarat Titans and Kane Williamson for SRH are performing well in their captaincy task. But SRH needs “Kane Mama” to fire with bat as well. Hardik Pandya is doing better with bat than than the ball. LSG is doing well in KL Rahul’s captaincy. On the flip side, Shreyas Iyer for KKR and Ravindra Jadeja for CSK have been appointed for this season and they are struggling. Even successful captain like Rohit Sharma and Legendary batsman like Virat Kohli haven’t fired yet. Fans are waiting to see them deliver big time during the later half of the tournament.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles