IPL 2022: Will a new champion be crowned this season?

IPL 2022 started off with Mega Auction in February even though Main competition started in March, since Mega Auction people have been predicting who will win this year’s IPL and what will be team compositions. Now, the tournament has successfully completed 70 matches out off scheduled 74 matches with two new teams added to the mix.

Entire tournament kept viewers glued to their TV sets with interesting contests while CSK, SRH, MI fans have gone through major frustrations. SRH fans had their team starting the campaign with losses but in the mid-season it won 5 back to back matches and looked like it is bidding for third title. But they bowed down after that and lost 5 on trot. Mumbai Indians created a dishonorable record by losing 8 matches on trot but they ended season on a high by winning against Delhi Capitals in a thrilling contest.

Chennai Super Kings had internal troubles to solve with Ravindra Jadeja as captain and then his resignation, handling reins back to MS Dhoni. Team looked settled after Dhoni got the captaincy back and it gave hope for qualification but failed ultimately as their batsmen were collectively not in consistent form.

Delhi Capitals couldn’t find a rhythm even though David Warner performed consistently for them. Captain Rishab Pant’s bad form hurt them in the middle overs the most. Punjab Kings won a consolation against SRH in their last match but never had perfect balance throughout the tournament. Livingstone starred for them in most matches as MVP. Kolkata Knight Riders at one time topped the table and then slid down due to uneven performances. Their bowling clicked in most matches but batting did not click in important games.

Lucknow Super Giants managed to cross the line at occasions when they shouldn’t have but found some individual to rise their hand at crucial moments. KL Rahul turned out to be their MVP. Rajasthan Royals flew high when Jos Buttler looked like smacking centuries for fun but he lost that touch mid season. Still, he is in top 5 run scorers list and they would hope that he and purple cap holder, Yuzuvendra Chahal will be at their best for two more games or three games to win their second title.

Gujarat Titans found players like Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill and captain Hardik Pandya holding fort at key moments to dominate the season. They seem set to win the tournament unless nerves get better of them. RCB finally has great chance to win the tournament for the first time. Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis kind of seniors would be looking to guide the team to famous first tournament fulfilling fans long term wishes. Playoffs start from 24th May.

GT vs RR on 24th May and RCB vs LSG on 25th May. Loser of first match will meet winner of second match on 27th May and IPL finals will be held on 29th May.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles